Organising Committee

Meet the AESC 2023 Organising Committee

Professor Peter Kinny - Chair

Pete is a John Curtin Distinguished Professor at Curtin University, Director of The Institute for Geoscience Research (TIGeR), and a professionally accredited (AcGeo10) isotope geochemist.  He has been teaching geology and dating rocks for decades.  He is active in both the WA Division of GSA and the SGGMP, not to mention the Denmark bird group.  Living in Perth since 1993, Pete is almost a local, and excited at the prospect of showcasing the best of WA at AESC 2023.  His job is to make it happen.

Dr Kailah Thorn - Diversity and Inclusion

Kailah is a vertebrate palaeontologist and Curator of the Edward de Courcy Clarke Earth Sciences Museum at UWA. Kailah grew up in the southwest of Western Australia, completed a PhD at Flinders University in SA, had aimed to eventually end up working somewhere exotic – and has now settled in Perth. Recognising that the role of encouraging and supporting diversity should not be the burden of marginalised peoples, Kailah is energetically applying herself to this task. She is keen to collaborate and listen to any ideas, suggestions, and feedback from past events, to make 2023 the most welcoming AESC yet.

Professor Chris Clark - Program

Chris is a professor of metamorphic geology at Curtin University and a key researcher in the MinEX CRC. An editor of the international journal Geology, Chris has previously been the chair of SGGMP and served on the Australian Academy of Sciences National Committee for Earth Sciences during the development of the most recent iteration of the Decadal Plan for Earth Sciences.

Ms Victoria Cousins - ECG, Students and Social Media

Vickie is a current PhD student at Curtin University looking at what meteorite impacts do to rocks. She has been actively involved in the GSA-WA committee for over 5 years, where she has worked on engaging student and early career members along with organisation of the annual GESSS-WA Student Symposium. She is looking forward to the AESC representing the diversity found within the Earth Science community.

Dr Paul Duuring - Workshops

Paul is a Senior Geologist at the Geological Survey of Western Australia and is a committee member in the WA Division of GSA, where he is responsible for organizing monthly talks and facilitating workshops. His goal through AESC 2023 is to offer a variety of geoscientific workshops – ensuring that they are meaningful and enjoyable experiences.

Associate Professor Svetlana Tessalina - Sponsorship and Exhibition

Svetlana is in charge of the Thermo-Ionisation Mass Spectrometry node of the John de Laeter Centre of Isotope Research at Curtin University. Svetlana has been involved in a range of national and international academic and industry-focussed projects, allowing her to establish a network within industry, academia and analytical companies. This network will be used to establish sponsorship opportunities at AESC.

Dr Martin Nguyen - Field Trips and Outreach

Martin is a structural geologist with Rio Tinto and enjoys running field trips and developing pedagogical tools for engaging younger students into the wonderful and wide world of earth sciences. When he’s not busy with work, Martin is always compiling a collection of beautiful rock specimens from whatever state he’s currently living in and plenty of photos of geological structures. He’s very keen to provide a nice array of field trips to showcase the diversity of Western Australian geology for the AESC conference.